COVID-19 educated us about quarantines

Hemant Kulkarni
1 min readAug 7, 2020

--

In our pre-COVID world, we did not take infectious diseases seriously, because they were not that serious or deadly. People were expected to go out and work even when they had a cold or flu. That just helped the flu spread to more people. Most people did not stay at home when they got sick and, I was sometimes ridiculed when I distanced myself from people when I caught the trivial flu.

Now, COVID has changed everything. I think that for the next decade or so after COVID dies down, people will still be on alert and if someone will catch a cold or cough, he or she will be expected to stay at home. Maybe there will even be laws around it?

People did not have any idea about the pros of quarantine. And now they do. This should seep into our cultural veins before we forget this valuable lesson.

Photo by visuals on Unsplash

(If you liked this post, you can follow my blog by clicking the Follow button. You will get more such posts from me in your feed, but at Medium’s whim. It helps me too if you’re inclined towards helping people. Thanks.)

--

--